Do You Believe?

 

Once again it is that time of year where you can’t help but feel the love, the magic, the innocence of the season.  Lights twinkling, choirs singing, and children dreaming…Santa is on his way.

As I get older, I find myself at this time of year wanting to go back to the time when I believed. Believing in the magic of the Season, waiting in anticipation for the man in that little red suit with a nose like a cherry and belly of jelly, to leave me presents under the tree.  The magic of the birth of Jesus and singing about his arrival in the little town of Bethlehem.  Churches all donned in red and gold and filled with voices singing. Children are excited, families are laughing, and the smells of cookies waifing in the air.  My favorite time of year as a child.

As we get older, however, the magic disipates a bit. We stop believing in things. Life hardens us to the realities.  Along the way, we lose the magic and innocence the Season once held for us and all we are left with are the memories.

So how do we keep the magic alive, in a world that contains so much violence, so much hatred, and so much sadness?  How do we believe?

I guess the only way to keep the magic alive is to find that one thing that makes us believe. We must reach out to that tiny bit of hope that there is goodness in the world, and capture it and bring it into our hearts even if for a little while.  Maybe surround ourselves with children, family, or friends… watch an old favorite holiday movie with a warm cup of hot cocoa…or visit a homeless shelter bringing them warm blankets or toys for needy children.  It is the simple things… simple gestures like these that can help bring back the spirit of the Season for so many.

While I sit here by the fire, staring at the lights on my tree and the Baby Jesus that lies underneath; hot cocoa in hand; the Polar Express playing in the background; my husband asleep in his recliner, the children asleep in their beds, and my dog on my lap…I realize I have so much to be thankful for this time of year. Even though I may struggle, and even though I don’t have many luxuries, and yes, I have lost and experienced heartbreak in my life like so many others, making this time of year difficult,  but I  know life goes on and so must we.

So if you can find the meaning and reason for the Season deep in your heart, give all you have, and love a lot… maybe you too can believe.

My prayers this Season to all who are sick, suffering, lonely, cold, or hungry, that you may find the help you need from others, and that Jesus may guide you and walk with you through these tough times and bring you peace.

Peace and Love always and Happy Holidays from my home to yours.

Donna

 

 

Leave a comment